
Apollo vs ZoomInfo: Data Accuracy, Coverage, and Cost Compared
The Apollo vs ZoomInfo choice turns on channel and budget: pick Apollo if your team is email-first and spends under about $10,000 a year on data; pick ZoomInfo if you sell by phone into enterprise accounts and can sign a five-figure annual contract. In Drevon's 100-account test the two were close on accuracy: ZoomInfo had 78% role accuracy and Apollo 74%. ZoomInfo found more direct dials. Apollo costs a fraction as much: a five-seat Professional team pays $4,740 a year at list, against a $33,500 ZoomInfo median.
How do Apollo and ZoomInfo compare at a glance?
Apollo is a self-serve database with sequencing built in; ZoomInfo is an enterprise data platform sold on annual contracts. Here is the side-by-side, as of October 2026.
| Apollo | ZoomInfo | |
|---|---|---|
| Published pricing | Yes | No, quote only |
| Entry paid price | $49 per seat a month, annual ($65 monthly) | About $15,000 a year (third-party estimates; ZoomInfo publishes no list price) |
| Typical spend | $4,740 a year for 5 Professional seats at list | Median $33,500 a year (Vendr, 1,576 purchases) |
| Credit model | Shared pool; email 1 credit, phone 8 | 1 credit per contact or company export |
| Credits included | 30,000 to 72,000 per seat per year | About 5,000 a year on entry packages (third-party) |
| Database claim | 240M contacts, 30M companies | 420M+ contacts, 120M+ direct dials, 145M+ companies |
| Role accuracy, Drevon test | 74% (26 of 100 titles outdated) | 78% (22 of 100 no longer in role) |
| Company coverage, Drevon test | 98 of 100 target companies | Not reported separately |
| Direct dials, Drevon test | Not reported separately | 71 of 100 |
| Contract | Monthly or annual; monthly cancels at term end | Order-form term; not cancellable; auto-renew reported |
| Sequencing and dialer | Included | Dialing included; automated outreach workflows from Copilot Advanced |
| Best for | SMB and mid-market email outbound | Enterprise phone-led sales, intent-driven ABM |
Vendor database claims are self-reported and counted differently, so do not compare them directly. The test figures come from Drevon's 100-lead test of sales intelligence tools, which covered mid-market and enterprise tech companies in cloud infrastructure, security and fintech.
Which has more accurate data, Apollo or ZoomInfo?
ZoomInfo was slightly more accurate on job titles in our test, 78% against Apollo's 74%, but both left roughly one contact in four or five pointing at the wrong person. The test checked returned titles against live company rosters and primary web profiles.
That gap is small next to the shared problem. If 22 to 26 of every 100 contacts have moved on, both tools need a verification step before outreach. People change jobs continuously, as we cover in why B2B data decays by over 30% a year.
For Apollo emails specifically, BounceZero, an email verification vendor, checked 100,000 Apollo contacts exported in the first half of 2026. It found 73.2% valid, 18.4% catch-all and 5.8% invalid. We found no comparable independent email study for ZoomInfo.
ZoomInfo puts an accuracy promise in its contract. Its public License Terms say that if more than 5% of licensed contacts are not employed at the listed company, you can notify ZoomInfo. It then has 30 days to reach 95% accuracy, or you may terminate with a prorated refund.
Neither tool's intent data links back to a source you can inspect. Our test noted that Apollo's intent relies on third-party content consumption surges and that ZoomInfo's intent does not link to the original web discussions.
Which has better coverage?
Apollo found contacts at more companies; ZoomInfo found more phone numbers. In the test, Apollo returned candidate profiles at 98 of the 100 target companies. ZoomInfo returned 71 direct phone numbers, the highest direct-dial match of the five tools tested.
The vendors' own numbers point the same way. Apollo advertises access to 240M contacts and 30M companies. ZoomInfo's sales page claims 420M+ global contacts, 120M+ direct dials and 145M+ companies.
Coverage matters most where you sell. Salesgear notes that independent tests suggest lower Apollo accuracy outside North America. ZoomInfo's about page claims 34M+ companies and 200M+ professionals outside North America. If you sell mainly in Europe or Asia, run a 50-account sample of your real territory through both trials before you commit.
How much does each cost?
Apollo costs $49 to $119 per seat a month on annual billing with prices on its website; ZoomInfo is quoted, with a median contract of $33,500 a year.
Take a five-rep outbound team:
| Apollo Professional (annual) | ZoomInfo (median) | |
|---|---|---|
| Annual cost | 5 x $79 x 12 = $4,740 | $33,500 |
| Data included | 240,000 credits | Not published; entry packages about 5,000 credits |
| Cost per email reveal | $0.0198 | About $3.00 per export at a $14,995 / 5,000-credit list price |
| Cost per phone reveal | 8 credits = $0.158 | Same 1 credit per export |
The ZoomInfo per-export figure divides the whole contract by credits, so it includes seats and software. It still shows the scale of the difference. ZoomInfo costs about 7x as much as Apollo for this team, and the extra spend buys direct dials, intent and enterprise support.
The comparison flips only when phone numbers dominate your usage. Two pricing details favour ZoomInfo for phone-heavy teams. On Apollo a phone number costs 8 credits, against 1 for an email. On ZoomInfo every export is one credit, whatever fields it includes. A rep who calls every lead pays Apollo 9 credits per contact, which cuts a Professional seat's 48,000 yearly credits to about 5,333 email-and-phone contacts.
For full plan detail, read Apollo pricing in 2026 and ZoomInfo pricing in 2026.
How do contracts and flexibility differ?
Apollo lets you start monthly and cancel at the end of the term; ZoomInfo locks you into the term on your order form. Apollo's FAQ says monthly plans can be cancelled anytime, effective at the end of the current term, and that annual plans cannot be downgraded mid-cycle.
ZoomInfo's License Terms state that the agreement "is not cancellable" and runs for the term in the Ordering Document. Cognism and Coffee, both competitors, report that standard contracts auto-renew for 12 months unless you give written notice 60 days before renewal. Your own order form sets the actual notice period, so check it on the day you sign. They also report renewal increases of 5% to 20%.
Credits behave differently too. Apollo credits are pooled across the team and expire at the end of each billing cycle. Third parties report that ZoomInfo credits also do not roll over.
Data rights after you leave also differ. Our analysis of where your prospect data goes compares what each vendor lets you keep.
How should you test Apollo and ZoomInfo before you buy?

Run the same sample through both trials and score it on your own accounts, not on vendor claims. Apollo has a free plan and a 14-day trial on Basic and Professional. ZoomInfo offers free trials on most plans. A one-week bake-off is enough.
- Pick 50 target accounts from your real territory, mixing sizes and regions.
- Choose two buyer roles per account, so you are looking for 100 contacts.
- Pull those contacts from each tool and export them to a sheet.
- Check each title against the person's current LinkedIn profile or company team page.
- Run every email through the same verifier and record valid, catch-all and invalid.
- Have one rep call 20 numbers from each tool and log who answers.
- Divide the annual quote by the number of contacts that passed all three checks.
The last step gives you a cost per usable contact for your market, which beats any published benchmark. Keep the sheet: it is also your evidence in the ZoomInfo negotiation.
Who should pick Apollo, and who should pick ZoomInfo?
Apollo is the better default for most teams under 20 reps. ZoomInfo is the better buy only when direct dials and intent data change your win rate enough to cover a five-figure contract.
Choose Apollo if:
- You are a founder, small team or mid-market team with an email-first motion.
- You want published prices, monthly billing and a free plan to test.
- You want sequencing, dialer and data in one seat.
- You will add your own verification step anyway.
Choose ZoomInfo if:
- Your reps call more than they email and need direct dials at scale.
- You sell to enterprise accounts where intent topics and buying-group data shape territory plans.
- You have procurement capacity to negotiate seats, credits and renewal terms.
- Marketing will use the same data for ABM, which ZoomInfo sells as separate plans.
If neither fits, a waterfall tool may. Clay combines many providers and charges nothing for misses; see Clay vs ZoomInfo and Clay pricing. For more options, see our roundup of 15 prospecting tools.
What do Apollo and ZoomInfo both miss?
Both tell you who works where; neither tells you why an account should hear from you this week. The best signals are posts, hiring pages and public discussions, which we list in nine buying signals you can't get from a contact database.
That is the job Drevon does. It reads LinkedIn, Reddit, Sales Navigator, job boards and company sites in your own browser and returns a brief where every claim links to its source. Teams run it before they spend database credits, then export the accounts that show real signals to Clay, HubSpot or their sequencer.
Frequently asked questions
Is Apollo cheaper than ZoomInfo?
Yes, by a wide margin. Five Apollo Professional seats cost $4,740 a year at list; the median ZoomInfo contract is $33,500.
Is ZoomInfo more accurate than Apollo?
Slightly, on job titles. Drevon's 100-account test measured 78% role accuracy for ZoomInfo and 74% for Apollo.
Which has more phone numbers?
ZoomInfo. It returned 71 direct dials on 100 accounts in our test and claims 120M+ direct dials overall.
Can I switch from ZoomInfo to Apollo mid-contract?
Not without paying out the ZoomInfo term, which is not cancellable. Plan the switch around your renewal notice date.
Can I use Apollo and ZoomInfo together?
Yes, but few teams need both. A more common pairing is one database plus a waterfall tool or a research tool for verification.
Which is better for a startup?
Apollo. It has a free plan, monthly billing and published prices, and a founder can start sending the same day.
Does Apollo have intent data like ZoomInfo?
Yes. Apollo includes 1 to 12 intent topics depending on plan. ZoomInfo puts intent in Copilot Advanced and above.
See which accounts show real buying signals before you pay for another contract. Download Drevon to run sourced prospect research on the AI subscription you already have, or book a demo.
Sources
- Drevon, "Best Sales Intelligence Tools in 2026, Tested on 100 Leads", accessed 2026-10-10.
- Apollo.io, "Pricing", accessed 2026-10-10.
- ZoomInfo, "Pricing", accessed 2026-10-13.
- ZoomInfo, "Sales" product page, accessed 2026-10-10.
- ZoomInfo, "License Terms and Conditions", accessed 2026-10-10.
- Vendr, "ZoomInfo Software Pricing & Plans 2026: See Your Cost", accessed 2026-10-13.
- Cognism, "ZoomInfo pricing in 2026", accessed 2026-10-10.
- Coffee, "ZoomInfo Pricing Complaints 2026", accessed 2026-10-10.
- ZoomInfo, "About", accessed 2026-10-10.
- Salesgear, "Apollo.io Pricing (2026): Real Costs, Plans, and the Credit Traps", accessed 2026-10-10.
- BounceZero Research, "Apollo.io Email Accuracy Study 2026", accessed 2026-10-10.